how did you learn to code reddit

But I knew it was possible to make programs with menus, that would branch you off one way or another. And perhaps it’s a matter of expectation. I started playing with Linux in my spare time and had summer jobs writing perl/shell scripts when I was in my mid-teens. It's all well and good that you should think of an object, say a car, and the methods and data that would go into it. But if you want something that will be easier to work with going forward, just "do it" may not be enough. Getting to the do it part isn't necessarily easy though, so I'll provide a practical example of how it was for for me; I had to find something I was really interested in and even passionate about and program a lot. If you run Chrome as your browser check out "inspect element". XNA 4.0, MonoGame, Unity, Unreal from there. I wrote an essay called "My Evolution as a Programmer" (which I'm getting tired of linking on Reddit, but you can find it) that illustrates this in embarrassing and painful detail. There's no question that practising is the best way to get better at something, especially something like programming. Don't fall into the trap of comparing yourself to others, especially to the experts you are learning from. Test your code like there is no QA but thank them if they point you to the most obvious mistakes, you won't do that again. Can you: 1. Don't fall into the trap of comparing yourself today to yourself yesterday. Learning how to code for beginners will provide you with enough skills and experience to pursue a career as a coder or programmer. My first experiments with programming were simple goals, like "I want to write a program to concatenate two wav files", or "I want to hook up Megahal to AIM". TBH, you'll find that theory will be the sauce that makes you better than the rest. I learned how to solder, read and write circuit schematics and build small projects. How did self-taught programmer Elon Musk transform himself into a billionaire